Savings stamps and coated peanuts – a winning combination!

Image

When I was at home for Christmas this year, my mother introduced me to savings stamps. The idea is that you purchase a stamp or two with your weekly shopping, and rather than saving a pound at home somewhere every week, the trick with these stamps is that they can’t tempt you when you’re searching the house for a few pounds!

So due to empty cupboards, a few of us took a trip to the supermarket for some nibbles this evening. I started collecting stamps at the beginning of February, and have managed to collect £9 worth so far, which I’ll be able to trade in for shopping when I’ve filled my booklet!

Image

I know that Tesco and the Co-op do these savings stamps, but I’m not entirely sure which other supermarkets do. But it would definitely be worth a look – as it’s a simple way of saving when you don’t notice an extra pound going onto your bill at the till. And of course, they can’t be spent early – so there is no temptation. 😉

And speaking of temptation, Sensations began making these tasty snacks a while back. They are simply to die for, and very more-ish! The peanuts have a crisp shell coating, which makes the peanut inside seem really soft in comparison. The flavour surrounding the shells has no initial spice to it – it’s more of a sharp and almost sour taste. But once you bite into the shell, a slow, deep heat spreads through your mouth, and you get a lovely chilli kick which lingers in the back of your throat. I wouldn’t say it is very spicy, but if you don’t enjoy spice – it might not be for you. But for me, I can’t get enough of these exciting little peanut presents wrapped in their tasty shell!

Image

About cannystudent

I am a 21 year old student, striving to make my way in the world and saving a pretty penny along the way. I love a bargain… along with food, fashion, books, film & tv. Not necessarily all at the same time. But I’ll try anything once.

Leave a comment